An Unusual Homecoming

Standard

After a week in sunny Florida, I returned home on a bitter, February evening.  I unlocked my door and to my surprise, I heard running water…?????  Splosh, splosh my feet cried as a turned around and to see where the sound was coming from.  I switched on the light and whipped open the laundry room door.  The sound of rushing water grew louder as I approached the washing machine.  I quickly wrestled the spewing water hose down and spun the handle on the water switch.  Ugh.  I thought as I looked down at the rusty connection.

The culprit

The culprit

I calmed myself down and went to do what I needed to do… use the bathroom.  I switched the bathroom light only to find water dripping through my light fixture and the ceiling.  Ugh an ice dam, I wondered.

image

Oh no! Not my beautiful popcorn ceiling!

Catch Basins

Catch Basins

Oh no!  My beautiful popcorn ceiling is falling.

The sky is falling

I checked the rest of my house and found that everything was fine.  Then  I called my neighbors Bob and Kathy for advice and a wet vac.  They came over with both and a sense of humor.  Bob gave me a demo on the wet vac and treked out into the snow to assess the situation.  Do I have great neighbors or what?

Leave a Reply

